Back to All Events

Ensemble Phoenix: Melodie?

  • Gare du Nord Schwarzwaldallee Basel (map)

Ensemble Phoenix Basel – Melodie?

György Ligeti – Melodien (1971)

Christophe Schiess – Empreintes de temps (2010) 

Georg Friedrich Haas – Ich suchte, aber ich fand ihn nicht. (2011)

Photo © Ensemble Phoenix Basel

Ensemble Phoenix Basel

Christoph Bösch – flute
Alexander Ott – oboe
Toshiko Sakakibara – clarinet
Richard Haynes – clarinet
Lucas Rössner – bassoon
Povilas Bingelis – bassoon
Aurélien Tschopp – horn
Simon Kissling – horn
Nenad Markovic – trumpet
Michael Büttler – trombone
Antonio Jiménez-Marín – trombone
Janne Matias Jakobsson – tuba
Daniel Stalder – percussion
João Pacheco – percussion
Ludovic Van Hellemont – piano
Friedemann Treiber – violin
David Sontòn-Caflisch –  violin
Alessandro D’Amico – viola
Stéphanie Meyer – cello
Aleksander Gabryś – double bass
Daniel Sailer – double bass
Jürg Henneberger – conductor

In this concert, we explore the question of what role the melody still plays in contemporary music. György Ligeti asked this provocative question as early as 1971 with the title of his orchestra piece Melodien.

Born in Biel, Christophe Schiess was a composition student with Georg Friedrich Haas. Since 2008 we maintain an intensive artistic exchange with him. The work Empreites de temps was premiered as part of the “Schlusskonzert Komposition” of the “Hochschule für Musik Basel” 2010 by the «Ensemble Phoenix Basel».

Georg Friedrich Haas taught at the “Musik Akademie Basel” from 2005 to 2013. He not only set musical accents there, but also for the whole music city of Basel (worth mentioning here in In Vain 2003 at the “Theater Basel”, … damit … die Geister der Menschen erhellt und ihr Verstand erleuchtet werden … 2010 on the occasion of the “Dies Academicus” in the “Basler Münster” , both with the «Ensemble Phoenix Basel»).

Earlier Event: April 13
Ensemble Phoenix: Melodie?